Public Speaking 101

chairs-1734148_960_720

(Source: https://pixabay.com/en/chairs-public-presentation-class-1734148/)

Whether you are a confident or shy person, I don’t think that anybody out there enjoys getting up and presenting in front of a large audience. As part of a module that I am doing this semester called ‘TESOL 1’, we were required to do a PowerPoint presentation in front of 150 people.

Daunting right?

music-1729496_960_720

(Source: https://pixabay.com/en/music-undertake-job-training-class-1729496/)

We were firstly put into groups of 5 or 6 people, which I felt made the task a little less scary. I think that the fact that 5 other people are standing at the front of a lecture hall with you takes a little bit of pressure off the speaker. The most daunting part of the whole assignment was the fear of forgetting what to say while in the spotlight.

Something that I found beneficial while preparing for my presentation was writing out exactly what I wanted to say on cue cards. In the event of losing track of what I was saying, these cards were there to prompt me in the right direction and keep me focused.

Overall, I found this task very useful. Although it was intimidating standing up in front of such a large volume of people, I feel that it was aided my confidence and that I would not find a presentation task as daunting in the future.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Writing for the Media

A series of reflective learning blogs

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

A WORRIED STUDENT

Take Us Seriously!

Millionaire's Digest

Millionaire's Digest - Share your passions, discover what others are sharing, and connect with new friends who are passionate about the same things as you are!

Reflections on learning

A series of reflections on college life...

